1. areasland

areasland New Member

Creative non-fiction

Discussion in 'Non-Fiction' started by areasland, Apr 28, 2018.

I'm pretty sure I'm the only idiot around who can't understand what creative non-fiction is so could someone help me understand what this is? I love reading non fiction almost as much as I love writing fiction. And lately I've seen an increase in calls that include this genre/category. I've read so many articles on what this category "is" but I'm still confused. Non-fiction is the facts presented in a way the intended demographic is going to understand. So, is creative non-fiction like the stuff Ann Rule writes? Real life with a side of what the writer 'thinks" happened between the facts? I am soooo confused. I have a piece in my head that involves Harry Houdini and Arthur Conan Doyle and their disparate ideas about spiritualism. I keep thinking that this would be just my opinion based on the facts I have gathered in the past year. I'm not an expert on this subject so why would anyone be interested in my opinion about this situation. Would you kind folks please help me get this?

2. NobodySpecial

NobodySpecial Contributor Contributor

Have you ever been out on the town with friends, going for pizza and a few beers and someone launches into a funny story about a near disastrous fishing trip, or how their kid's peewee football team came back from a score of 21-0 at the 4th quarter to win the game... Creative non fiction. It's telling of an actual event in an entertaining and non clinical way.

3. ChickenFreak

ChickenFreak Contributor Contributor

I've always assumed it's like a novel, only it happens to be true. But I'm not sure I'm right.

4. deadrats

deadrats Contributor Contributor