1. prettyvisitors

prettyvisitors Member

Friends to Lovers?

Discussion in 'Romance' started by prettyvisitors, Sep 16, 2018.

One of my stories has a romantic subplot where two people that have been friends for a long time (on and off) realise their feelings about each other and start to date. Furthermore, I want the male character to negotiate them getting together.

Maybe because I'm not very experienced, but I have no idea what plot points you'd use as a vehicle to get from point A (friendship) to point B (romance).

What do you use to start a romantic arc, when it's not exactly love at first sight?

2. BayView

BayView Huh. Interesting. Contributor

Is it a full-on friends-to-lovers, or has there been mutual attraction between them all along, but they haven't expressed it for whatever reason?

Assuming it's full-on, I think you want something to trigger a character seeing the other character in a new way. Maybe one of them starts getting serious about someone else and that makes the other character realize what s/he stands to lose. Maybe one of them does a "makeover" and becomes more physically appealing. Maybe they have a big fight and the friendship seems to be over and they realize that they're losing more than just an ordinary friend. Whatever. Something triggers.

And then traditionally there's some denial on one or both parts, some resistance to the idea, some fears that getting romantic might ruin the friendship. They eventually get physical, to whatever degree, and it's kind of weird and awkward and they pull away for a little bit but then realize they really, really miss the other. Shazam! Friends to lovers!

3. AliceV

AliceV New Member

"Sincerely, Carter" is a great book in this genre. I recommend you to read it. Maybe it will help you to improve your writing.