1. DefinitelyMaybe

DefinitelyMaybe Contributor Contributor

Gardeners vs. architects

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by DefinitelyMaybe, Oct 12, 2015.

I've recently heard this lecture on youtube.

What do people think? Can we categorise writers into Gardeners vs Architects?

2. IlaridaArch

IlaridaArch Active Member

Well it's very common way to go about it, it seems most of the fantasy writers refer to this thinking today.

Personally, I don't really mind about categorising and universal theories.

DefinitelyMaybe likes this.
  3. nastyjman

nastyjman Senior Member

I'm a hybrid: I discovery write my 1st draft, then outline my 2nd draft.

4. pyroglyphian

pyroglyphian Word Painter

Thought I was an architect. All that planning kinda appealed to a meticulous streak, however realised recently that I might be a gardener instead.

Have been writing this novella-type thing by the seat of my pants and it has been much more fun to write that way. Despite it needing considerable editing later on, being off the leash seems to have contributed to a much livelier voice, quirkier, and with a turn of phrase that has pleasantly surprised me upon reading back over. By contrast the previous WIP – a longer novel – has apparently had the life planned out of it.

The proof is in the potato I guess. The former I've been hitting like 5000 words each week. The latter I'd be lucky to get 400 a week – so burdened was the spirit with blueprints and spreadsheets.

jannert, KhalieLa and DefinitelyMaybe like this.
  5. Imaginarily

Imaginarily Disparu en Mer Contributor

Discovery for me, no doubt about it. I explore my worlds and characters, I don't build them. And I definitely need to learn how to write endings, just like the video says. My poor fantasy novel is still hanging after 15 years, stuck at 90%. And needs a shit ton of editing...

*checks notes* :read: