1. Montego Bay

Montego Bay Banned

Describing/Characterizing POC

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by Montego Bay, Aug 18, 2016.

Hi, so I'm a white author who likes to add in as much diversity as I can. I don't think I go out of my way to add diversity just for the sake of having an "accepting" tone, every character is an important part of the story, and how they look is sometimes important, sometimes not. One thing I've read frequently when going over advice for white authors writing POC characters (and the tumblr/blog writingwithcolor is certainly one of those sources) is to not write about the issues surrounding those characters that have to do with race. Let me elaborate: don't try to put your opinion about race into those characters' mouths unless you yourself have experienced those issues. <- what I've learned so far from my research.

So keeping that in mind, I've been writing a main character from a small village on the side of a river in fictionalized Australia. The village is known as Nef, in the region of Ndun, and there's only about 300 people living there. Most people who live there are poor, and since it's so small everyone stereotypes them as marrying each other's cousins, or being illiterate, or having weird accents (the weird accents are because people from all regions pass through the river, bringing with them their own personal slang or way of talking). Now my character actually can't read, and this becomes an issue later as he signs a contract without having read it.