Tags:
  1. J.D. Ray

J.D. Ray Member Supporter Contributor

Gerund Usage

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by J.D. Ray, Jan 28, 2019.

An author friend of mine, on review of one of my early works, chided me that I used a lot of gerunds. Unfortunately, at the time, I had to go look up what the heck a 'gerund' was (to keep you from doing it, a gerund is generally a word ending in '-ing'). Then I started looking at my work looked at my work and noticed that, indeed, he was correct. Since then, I've been on the hunt (during review) for places I can cut them out. I'm a better writer for it. But they shouldn't always be cut; they're part of our language for a reason. Here I find myself in a quandary. Which of these do you think is best?

1. “I can see Pula in the distance, past those two small islands,” said Marko, pointing to where the ships had gone. “We can find help there, I think.”
    2. “I can see Pula in the distance, past those two small islands,” said Marko, and pointed to where the ships had gone. “We can find help there, I think.”
    3. “I can see Pula in the distance, past those two small islands,” said Marko as he pointed to where the ships had gone. “We can find help there, I think.”
    ...or do you recommend something else?

2. ChickenFreak

ChickenFreak Contributor Contributor

I think it depends heavily on how many (gerunds) (instances of past continuous tense?) are used nearby. Edited to add: And other elements of the nearby text--to me this is a matter of how the text flows.

I'd use either the first, or if there are too many nearby, I might go with:

“I can see Pula in the distance." Mark pointed to where the ships had gone. "Past those two small islands. We can find help there, I think."

Last edited: Jan 29, 2019
    J.D. Ray likes this.
  3. BayView

BayView Huh. Interesting. Contributor

"Pointing" in your first example isn't actually a gerund... Gerunds do generally end in -ing, but not all words that end in -ing are gerunds.