Tags:
  1. Ree

Ree New Member

Stephen King - On Writing thesis

Discussion in 'Discussion of Published Works' started by Ree, Feb 3, 2010.

I read this over and over last night and thought I'd post it here for discussion. He wrote, with regards to the approach on his book,

"...while it is impossible to make a competent writer out of a bad writer, and while it is equally impossible to make a great writer out of a good one, it is possible, with lots of hard work, dedication, and timely help, to make a good writer out of a merely competent one."

Each time I finished, I thought "Oh ****! If I'm a bad writer, I better hang up my hat now." But then I thought, doesn't life experience and age play into this as well? I feel like this is saying "Once a bad writer, always a bad writer."

What are your thoughts?

2. Wreybies

Wreybies Thrice Retired Supporter Contributor

My thoughts are that Mr. King is not the be-all end-all of writing. The fact that he has said something as though it were pearls of truth rained down upon us from the gods does not make it so.

Some of Mr. King's (and by some I mean a lot) work is cack. Pulp. A shameful waste of beautiful trees.

His popularity is not to be confused with his acumen. Ridiculously bad things are often popular. Cigarettes, for example.

3. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

Agreed. There are some pieces of King's writing that I enjoy, and a lot of it I think is utter garbage. Furthermore, the man has no concept of the word "concise." He rambles like a kudzu vine.

But even if that were not the case, On Writing is a book about his writing experience and opinions. Every writer is different, and finds his or her best way of organizing, and of learning.

No one starts out as a brilliant writer. There probably is such a thing as innate talent, but most of it is a willingness to work hard and to continually learn.