Tags:
  1. B055man

B055man Member

How does surrendering a castle work?

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by B055man, Sep 19, 2022.

There is a wizard who captures and imprisons the lord of a castle and threatens to kill him if his men don't surrender his castle to a griffin. They agree to the terms and leave the castle, allowing the griffin to move in.

Just wondering how does surrendering a castle actually work historically? Is it just a case of the surrendered people packing up their things and leaving and the victorious people moving in with their things, or in this case a griffin, or is there more to it than that? I know it's probably mundane and trivial to go into for a story but I want to add these details into my story.

MartinM likes this.
  2. Earp

Earp Contributor Contributor

I'm no expert, but I'd guess that the 'surrendering' usually involved the deaths of the current occupants.

B055man likes this.
  3. Naomasa298

Naomasa298 HP: 10/190 Status: Confused Contributor

Depends on the terms of the surrender. In medieval warfare, noblemen would generally be held prisoner and ransomed (unless they were particularly notorious), and the soldiers probably just dispersed into the countryside, back to their homes. It's unlikely the occupants would have been given enough time to "pack up", as such - most of the contents of the castle, including the people, would be spoils of war.

B055man likes this.
  4. Bruce Johnson

Bruce Johnson Contributor Contributor Contest Winner 2023