Tags:
  1. Veltman

Veltman Active Member

Getting lost with overflowing ideas and themes?

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Veltman, Oct 14, 2018.

I don't know if people here are into MBTI. I am an INFP. I find myself rarely able to calm down and center into working on a single project. For example, I am now in the planning and worldbuilding stage of my dream writing project. a Edwardian-esque fantasy saga.

Even if I'm just getting started, which is normally the phase where you're hyped for it and can't think about anything else, I already find myself thinking about different plots and ideas, for example, a mid-century hardboiled detective story and then, trying to focus on the current project, I end up cramming some aspects of the other ideas that keep coming up in the story and that forces me to change and adjust the setting from the original plan. This almost never works out and I end up feeling lost and losing all motivation to write.

Anyone else went/goes through this sometimes? Any words of advice? What can I do?

jannert and Simpson17866 like this.
  2. David Lee

David Lee Member

Yes. I say go with it. That's your muse trying to keep you thinking, creating...

3. Mark Burton

Mark Burton Fried Egghead Contributor

It depends on your personality. Spread yourself too thin on multiple projects and you can't focus on the main one(s). Focus on one project and you might get bored, stuck or blocked. Those are really the issues and there are no right answers here, but there are some wrong ones. If you find your main project collecting dust for months then you know you've made a mistake with your approach.

Isaac Asimov had 3 or 4 typewriters going at the same time, each with a different story. Whenever he got stuck on one story, he'd move onto one of the others. You could go the same way. The trick is to ensure that you keep on writing, no matter what.

Good luck!

Storysmith and Veltman like this.
  4. Simpson17866