1. Chris

Chris New Member

How important are credentials?

Discussion in 'Traditional Publishing' started by Chris, Sep 27, 2007.

I am a new writer (in the sense that I am now working on my first serious attempt at a novel) and am currently a member of the U.S. Air Force. I have an AA in Chinese, but I am planning on getting a bachelor's before my enlistment is up. I would like to start trying to get published around that time as well.

So this is my question. As an unpublished author, how important are credentials in trying to get your first work published? I will have (presumably) a BA in English or writing or some other area, but no real writing experience (that can be cited as credentials). Aside from a degree, I have military experience as well as a good general knowledge of Chinese language and culture, both of which are major factors in the book I am currently working on.

How do these things factor in being taken seriously? Are credentials a major consideration for publishers/agents?

All this is, of course, presuming that the work in question is well-written and otherwise likely to be published.

2. Chris

Chris New Member

Two additional questions:

What are good ways to build up solid credentials?

also-

What are your thoughts on bachelor's degrees? Which degrees are most valuable in preparing for a writing career, specifically if you plan on writing fiction?

3. TWErvin2

TWErvin2 Contributor Contributor

Chris,

The degree will help you with respect to building your knowlege base and writing skills, but a publisher will be far less influenced by your degrees as opposed to the quality of the writing demonstrated in a manuscript.