Tags:
  1. Maverick_nc

Maverick_nc Contributor Contributor

Glue Words

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by Maverick_nc, Apr 30, 2019.

Hi folks,
    So, I use various writing tools to assist my writing and whilst I adhere only loosely to their suggestions, the one thing that is consistently reported is my overuse of glue words. I consider this a big problem as it's not (currently) something I'm noticing when writing, but directly impacts the quality of my work.

I'm still learning and hope to improve with time, but in the shorter term does anyone have any tips or tricks to help me avoid structuring my sentences with sticky/glue words?

Cheers
    NC

2. big soft moose

big soft moose An Admoostrator Admin Staff Supporter Contributor Community Volunteer

what the hell is a glue word ?

SolZephyr likes this.
  3. Steerpike

Steerpike Felis amatus Contributor

I found this example via Google:

ORIGINAL: Morgan walked over into the second-hand car lot in order to see if there was a car she could buy for getting herself to her new job.

Original sentence length: 27 words

Sticky [i.e. GLUE] words: over into, in order, getting herself to

Improved version: Morgan checked the second-hand car lot for a car she could buy to drive to work.

It looks to me like it's general tightening of the writing. The first sentence isn't very good--the rewritten sentence is a lot better.

The guy who coined the term says the glue words just hold together the words that do the actual work.

4. Maverick_nc

"‘Glue’ words, or ‘sticky’ words, are little words that hold together ‘working’ words — the words that carry the meaning of a sentence. For example, in the following sentence, the words in bold are all glue words.

The girls went to the forest to collect some pine cones."

Glue words are essential, but it’s easy to use too many. For example, here’s a sentence with more glue words than working words: