1. Justin Rocket 2

Justin Rocket 2 Contributor Contributor

What do you do to learn and further master writing?

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by Justin Rocket 2, Sep 3, 2015.

I am very frustrated.

I've confessed before that I'm not very good at stringing scenes together to form a story. Some of you kind ladies and gents have tried to console me by telling me this is a skill that can be learned. I took that to mean that I should continue reading books about writing, which I did.

I don't think I'm learning.

What do you do to learn and further master writing?

2. Tenderiser

Tenderiser Not a man or BayView

Read. Reading is the best way to learn how to write. I don't mean read how-to-write books, just read GOOD books in the genre or style that you aspire to. Note what works and what doesn't.

What bits in particular are you struggling with?

OurJud likes this.
  3. Kata_Misashi

Kata_Misashi Active Member

Take a deep breath my friend! We are here to help you! :)
    As Tender says; reading is the best lesson to help a writer. Follow books that target your particular favorite genre. Also research and find references to what you are trying to write. Take in different situations from movies or video games and alter to your whim. Think outside the box.
    Like any skill; drawing, martial arts, etc, require dedication. Don't fluster yourself over mistakes. Brush yourself and try again, brah.
    That's just my 2 cents... :supercool:

4. Justin Rocket 2

At this point, I'm frustrated enough to say "everything." I've been working on one novel for over a year and have only a few thousand words done. I think, maybe, I don't understand my characters well enough, yet.

5. Tenderiser

Tenderiser Not a man or BayView

Can we help? Maybe this can be your own "what would my characters do?" thread?

6. Kata_Misashi

Kata_Misashi Active Member

Ahh, that could be it. Then allow me to assist you.

http://www.epiguide.com/ep101/writing/charchart.html