1. rylotajo

rylotajo New Member

What an amazing site!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by rylotajo, Apr 9, 2009.

Hello All, I'm new to this site, and it looks like a great place!

A little about myself, I am an elementary teacher, and I am not and never have been a writer, up until about 3 months ago when I decided I wanted to write a novel.

I had an amazing idea and felt that I needed to pursue it further, so I started on January 11, 2009, and worked every night after my children went to sleep, and ended on April 4th with 500 plus pages and over 130,000 words-I have a novel. It's been a whirlwind, and I can't believe that it took less than 3 months to finish!

It's a bit lengthy for a YA book, but with lots of editing and rewriting, I am hoping I can shed some excess paragraphs.

I just started the editing phase yesterday. I'm printing 2 chapters at a time, it's easier for me to edit on paper than on a computer screen, and already there seems to be more red ink than black! Oh well!

I hope I can share my writing with you all, I would love some feedback before I start querying agents.

Thanks!

2. Dalouise

Dalouise New Member

Hi and welcome! :)

3. lynneandlynn

lynneandlynn New Member

Hi and welcome to the site. There's definitely a section for novel excerpts where you can get critiques. However, before you do that, make sure that you critique at least two other members' works (as in-depth as you possibly can) that way cog won't get you. (I'm sure his post will show up any time now :-D)

~Lynn

4. Neha

Neha Beyond Infinity. Contributor

hey Rylo, I'm sure you'll get plenty of help for your novel. Welcome to WF, and hope to see you around..:)

5. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

Hello Rylotajo, Welcome to the Writing Forums.