Tags:
  1. Sclavus

Sclavus Active Member

Crime Scenes

Discussion in 'Research' started by Sclavus, Oct 24, 2017.

During a blizzard, a homeless man was murdered and dumped on the sidewalk outside the homeless shelter in my story. By the time my protagonist finds him, the body is starting to freeze solid at the extremities, but there's blood on the concrete and snow.

My question is: how long before the police release the scene back to the public?

2. Midge23

Midge23 Active Member

I’m not police but medical (UK) and have attended loads of crime scenes, so I am not an expert but here are my thoughts. If the body was dumped here then it is not the primary crime scene (they will want to find this and, would likely spend much more time there).

It would probably be released within a day. Forensics would come in a few hours and do their thing. Police don’t want a crime scene in a public place for long because they have to use officers on the cordons and they want to get the area back to its normal use quickly (don’t want a gristly murder scene laying there for the public to fret over).

They may well use a tent to cover the body to keep it from the public eye and to try and preserve any evidence.

Sclavus likes this.
  3. Sclavus

Sclavus Active Member

Thank you. I took a few criminal justice courses in college, but none of them got into the particulars of crime scene procedures. It makes sense they'd want to get done with the scene as quickly as possible.

I don't think there'd be a ton of evidence they could gather, given the body is dumped during a blizzard that's lasted several days. There would be blood on the snow from where the victim died, but he doesn't have ID and his fingerprints aren't in the system, so he's not easily identified. I see it as one of those unfortunate circumstances where it's unlikely to be solved.

At any rate, if they can release the scene within 12 hours, great. Within 24, okay. Longer than that, and my story runs into issues.