1. Tomaz

Tomaz New Member

Short Story Advice - Short Story Set to Music?

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by Tomaz, May 12, 2014.

Hi there,

I know I haven’t used this forum in years, but I wanted to ask for some input on an interdisciplinary postgraduate project I’m working on. I studied Creative Writing at undergraduate level, but have since moved into music, which is the other love of my life – I’m currently studying Creative Sound and Media Technology here in the UK.

I am collaborating with a postgraduate writer; we’re hoping to create a project that features a short-story he will produce, set to ambient music, which I create. The short story will appear on a tablet screen (very inorganic, I know) and the tablet will in turn send cues to a laptop which will trigger my music – so it won’t be linear, but rather an interactive experience – i.e. if you were to go back a page or two, the audio from that page would transition back in. I think it’s a neat idea with some potential, certainly a worthwhile experiment at least! The style of music will be ambient, and essentially I will be doing the interpreting (he will finish his piece first, and then it's up to me to make the music).

Anyway, I’ve been trying to research any sort of crossovers like this (or not) – any stories or poetry that have ever been set to music. I haven’t found very much of this type of thing, so I thought I would ask you guys if there’s anything you have ever come across? Any material at all would be very valuable to my research.

Any input, in fact, is more than welcome!

Thanks in advance, and best of luck with your respective artists journey. :)

Tom,

NanashiNoProfile likes this.
  2. minstrel

minstrel Leader of the Insquirrelgency Supporter Contributor

This sounds like a cool idea.