1. MachineGryphon

MachineGryphon Member

Hey, new around here

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by MachineGryphon, Dec 27, 2016.

Hey, the name's Andrew, I'm 26 and from England. I've been writing on and off since I was around 11 years old, finished a couple of diabolical books as a kid but looking to develop something a bit more mature now I have a bit more worldly experience. I have written a few things in recent years that I'm tentatively proud of, and am very slowly working on something which I hope will approach a novel at the moment.

I'm mostly here looking to chat about writing techniques, gain some inspiration, give and receive feedback on work, meet people with similar interests and hopefully make some friends. Looking forward to getting to know everyone here. :)

2. I.A. By the Barn

I.A. By the Barn A very lost time traveller Contributor

Evening! Welcome to our very weird world, I hope you don't get lost.

What genres do you like to write in?

A man called Valance likes this.
  3. MachineGryphon

MachineGryphon Member

Thank you very much. My sense of direction isn't fantastic so unfortunately I may lose my way. :dead:

I tend to write mostly thriller style, usually with a twist towards the end. The story I'm currently trying to develop is in that genre I'd say, with a protagonist I'm trying to make likeable despite a questionable profession. Most of my stories end up getting quite dark. I also love to read and write sci-fi, and writing something akin to the first Alien would be incredible for me, but my attempts at actually writing in that genre have been laughably bad. I am looking to read more into my genres as well to gain experience with the style.

4. I.A. By the Barn

I.A. By the Barn A very lost time traveller Contributor

I've never really read any thrillers as when I watch them they often stress me, I'm shouting at the telly 'you've got the wrong bloke!' the whole time.