1. sure!

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. mmmm not really

100.0%
  1. Jmatlack

Jmatlack New Member

Glad to be here

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Jmatlack, Mar 25, 2017.

Hello everyone! I am glad I found this forum. I have been looking for a community to share my work with. I am new to fiction writing but I have to say it's an itch I have to scratch. I am used to professional writing on the graduate level and I haven't even found my voice in that yet!

As an academic and a know it all, I'd like to get my hands on some books that teach literary devices, and methods to bring out the master writer in me. Know any good resources?

I feel a little behind and undeserving of a masterpiece in Fiction because all through high school I slept through English classes. I missed out on so much good stuff! I blame it on sports mostly. But I will say this -- that which I invest in I always get good at. After all I was a state champion wrestler.

I had fun writing in my first ever college rhetoric course. We had to write an essay a week. We took them into class and let our peers read the essays for feed back. One time a girl gave me a comment that made me feel like she didn't understand what I was trying to say. I thought it was just over heard head. But you know what great writers say," It's never the readers fault." In the end I knew my essay was rubbish. I mean who could make the argument that all art is beautiful?

I cant wait to get started! This forum gives me a great opportunity to edit and comment on others work as well as hold my own to higher standards -- and I wouldn't mind winning a contest either. You can expect a lot of spiritual fiction, random short stories with spiritual themes, and personal experiences transmuted into fictitious characters.