1. CatVI

CatVI New Member

Hello everyone!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by CatVI, Feb 17, 2020.

I am an engineering student, currently in my 4th year of B.Sc. English is not my first or even second language. And I live in Bangladesh.

But I always liked reading English fiction. Specially web serials and such. That is why I thought I should give it a try too. However my skills in writing English is very sub per.
    To quote one reviewer, "Yikes. Sentence structure, tense, singular vs plural, punctuation, term usage. All have had issues and I literally read a chapter and a half. Needs an editor pretty bad. Grammar is more attention drawing than the story itself at this point, and until it gets fixed I'm out. "
    And I absolutely agree with him.
    That's why I joined this forum, in hopes to at least improve my skill to a satisfactory level.

I currently write about 2k words daily and have managed to keep this up for the last 1 month. But the problem is how awkward my sentence structure is.
    I need some proper guidance or resources to remedy that. I thank anyone willing to give me direction.

Last edited: Feb 17, 2020
  2. RightWrite

RightWrite Active Member

Hello CatVI! Welcome to the forums! :)

It's good to see a fellow Indian here. Keep up the good work in your efforts to improve your English writing skills; joining the forums here is a step in the right direction. I would recommend reading instructional books, web content, and regularly speaking in English with others. It's also a good idea to take up hobbies that encourage good writing skills, like daily journaling, blogging, or fiction writing. Good luck and see you in the forums!

Last edited: Feb 19, 2020
    Alan Aspie, CatVI and Steve Rivers like this.
  3. Some Guy

Some Guy Manguage Langler Supporter Contributor