Tags:
  1. turboFriend

turboFriend New Member

(Complete beginner) Where to begin?

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by turboFriend, Jul 24, 2017.

I am 20 years old, and I would like to pick up creative writing and storytelling. I've been studying art the past few years at school, and it just seems so empty without a story to go along with it. Where can a complete newbie hope to start?

2. Homer Potvin

Homer Potvin A tombstone hand and a graveyard mind Staff Supporter Contributor

Page one... no, seriously :)

turboFriend and Trish like this.
  3. turboFriend

turboFriend New Member

cute

4. Trish

Trish Damned if I do and damned if I don't Contributor

Hello @turboFriend Homer's right. Pull up a blank page and fill it up with something that interests you. Welcome to the forum :)

5. turboFriend

turboFriend New Member

Is there anywhere you can direct me to in the forum where something like that should go? Is there a beginner part section of this forum, or just put it in 'general writing'

6. Wreybies

Wreybies Thrice Retired Supporter Contributor

Have a look through the PM you will have gotten from me. The answer to that question and many more are to be found therein. ;) Welcome to the forum!

Trish likes this.
  7. turboFriend

turboFriend New Member

The rules said something about the story submission to how many critques you give is 2:1, is that right? Where can I give critiques and what if I don't know how to give a good critique?

8. Wreybies

Wreybies Thrice Retired Supporter Contributor

Critiques are given (and received) in the Writing Workshop area of the forum.