1. Chuck_Lowcountry

Chuck_Lowcountry New Member

Hello from the Carolinas

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Chuck_Lowcountry, Dec 10, 2020.

Hi everyone,
    I'm a data scientist, experienced in technology aboard US Submarines and a manufacturing plant in the Carolinas. Most of my writing in my career has been technical. I've had an active imagination and created stories in my head since I was about nine-years-old. I made up stories for my children at night when they were younger. I did not write fiction.

I completed my first novel just a week ago. The first draft has 93K words. The primary genre is hard SF, with a hefty amount of the paranormal/supernatural, and a hint of religious overtones. I wrote in 3rd-person objective POV. It includes descriptions and dialog, without any insight into what characters are thinking.

My current, and first, WIP idea has been soaking since 2015. Life hindered any progress until the pandemic freed up a some serious time. I spent nearly 400 hours over the summer designing my novel. This included the outline, drawings of equipment, biographical sketches, pseudo theoretical physics, pseudo paranormal, and writing the initial 14K. I finished up my work during Nano-2020.

I'm working through my 2nd draft in December and January. Here is my workflow:
    • Read each chapter out loud to my number-one critic, my wife (my alpha reader/listener).
    • Mark-up the 480-page manuscript for obvious mistakes like typos, missing words, wrong words, etc.
    • Underline any and every detail that describes the SF.
    • Evaluate the overall story line. I've already butchered a chapter and added it to another location.
    • Update my Microsoft Word version.
    • Backup everything on Dropbox.