1. Lyle Aryn

Lyle Aryn New Member

Hello, I am Lyle Aryn

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Lyle Aryn, Jan 14, 2018.

I must admit. I'm a little gun shy about joining a forum again. Since getting my book in print, though, I've learned that the most important skill to have as a self-published author is the ability to network.

Darn. And here I spent all these years honing my craft!

I'll try to keep this short, but I am a writer, so...

In kindergarten we were given these stapled together sheets of office paper between two sheets of construction paper. Mine was purple. This was our "journal" and we could use it every day. On page number 1 of mine?

"I want to make books"

In yellow crayon, no less.

Hey, I was 6. My grammar and/or understanding of the process wasn't developed yet. Most kids doodled in their journals, so there!

So when I say that my first love was the written word, you can take that as literal factual truth.

Fast forward to now. I turned 30, and finally, FINALLY got a book out into the light of day. It's over on Amazon right now. I spent 15 years writing it. It wasn't my first book, or even the only one I worked on for all that time. To be honest, I went through some serious trauma in that period of time. I went through a very long period of time where I worried I would never been able to string a sentence together again. I battle the demons of depression, anxiety and psychosis, and came out the other side with the desperate NEED to write.

And the all-important, all-consuming need to complete this book. The story wouldn't leave me alone. I had this feeling that once I completed my first book, it would get easier after that.

The feeling was validated. I finished my book. Got through the editing cycle. And then I wrote another. This last November, I completed the Novel Writing Challenge in only 15 days. (I ended up with a late start)