Tags:
  1. Eric Emrys

Eric Emrys New Member

Hello, newbie to horror here

Discussion in 'Fantasy' started by Eric Emrys, Sep 17, 2019.

I'm having some trouble with a short story I'm currently working on. I wanted to try my hand at horror, since my first self-published short story had a horror vibe. However, I'm a scaredy-cat and every time I try to describe a scary situation it ends up feeling truncated and too blunt. I'm not very good at tension. Does anyone have any tips on how to make a horror story more... I dunno, horrific?

2. OrdinaryJoe

OrdinaryJoe Active Member

Maybe not so much of a tip, but if you go to the horror section and do some reading you may pick up on some of the ways that other people are writing horror. Watch some older horror movies as well. The new one rely to much on cgi to tell a story. Watch some of the old black and white ones. They were more concerned with a good story.

Oscar Leigh likes this.
  3. The Dapper Hooligan

The Dapper Hooligan (V) ( ;,,;) (v) Contributor

That's a good thing in horror, isn't it?

Oscar Leigh likes this.
  4. Cave Troll

Cave Troll It's Coffee O'clock everywhere. Contributor

Where cushions are comfy, and straps hold firm.
    Gonna say that is the bread and butter of Horror.
    The unknown is far more terrifying than the big
    reveal, or immense amounts of gore or torture.
    You know dread, that feeling of skin crawly goodness.
    You have to play on the raw emotion itself rather than
    will the monster scare the poo right out of the reader.
    Cause the unknown and unpredictable elements are what
    will really play on the reader's mind.

Take some time to read some decent Horror, to get a feel
    for how this is pulled off. (Steve King is really not that
    scary compared to people who actually apply themselves). :p
    Good luck. :)

deadrats, Oscar Leigh and jannert like this.
  5. jannert

jannert Retired Mod Supporter Contributor