1. Birch Anderson

Birch Anderson Member

Hello, Nice to Meet You

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Birch Anderson, Sep 20, 2020.

Hello, everyone. I’m excited and rather anxious to start up an account here, and hopefully try to gather friendships and potentially a readership. I hope I can maintain a presence here; for some people, social anxiety just bleeds into the internet, and you’re afraid to communicate even with the safety net of anonymity.

I’ve been writing fiction and poetry since I was six years old, and at nearly thirty with having published nothing, I feel very unaccomplished and, frankly, worthless as a writer. I haven’t submitted to contests or zines or anything because I’m terrified of being rejected (in my head, one story being rejected means having my whole ambition as an author dismissed). The closest I’ve come is setting up an account on DeviantArt last year where I’ve put my less ambitious works. Unfortunately, the site has gone through some recent changes that have made it even more difficult for writers to be noticed.

I’m best at writing horror, dark fantasy, and tragic romance, though I’m not afraid to venture into other genres. I’ve lived in rural Minnesota my entire life, and I feel skilled with settings involving isolated small towns, forests, and lakes. I’m currently trying to publish several collections of short stories – after that, hopefully I can focus long enough to finish any of the novels I’ve begun on my computer. There is a long list of authors in whose footsteps I bumble, but at the forefront is Caitlin R. Kiernan.

I have very little self-confidence, and although I know it’s an ancient, if somewhat accurate, cliché for all artistic types to be moody and depressed, I’m hoping that involving myself with other writers will actually help.

r.ross, LostArtist and Steve Rivers like this.
  2. Steve Rivers

Steve Rivers Contributor Contributor