1. OGIS

OGIS New Member

Hello, OGIS here

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by OGIS, May 11, 2017.

OGIS stands for OldGuyInStanton (California), which is where I live with my lovely wife (and two cats). I'm a retired accountant and an avid science fiction reader. Way back in 2014 we came up with a story concept, as my wife wanted to write a story that touched on the issue of pets, particularly pets stolen from their native environments, such as budgies and parrots.

This is our first joint effort, though I have myself written several short SF stories, some vampire poetry and fiction, and started a Stargate novel. Sadly, nothing published, or even submitted.

Anyway, the story we started together seems to be coming about naturally and "organically" - the concepts seem to jump into our minds, and the story line is plotted out for at least several books. We are up to 78,000 words now, and it looks like the first book (this will actually be at least a trilogy) will top out at 160,000 words. We are writing it for a younger audience, and our FK is running around from 5.6 to 11.1, with an average of 8.8.

I'm here to learn some specific things, mainly how to submit and get published. I'm also interested in the mechanics of the novel. For example, widows and orphans - how to deal with them.

As a somewhat anal ex-accountant, I have been simply avoiding widows and orphans by making sure that my paragraphs fit nicely on the page. This sometimes means I have to add (pad) text, and this upsets my wife because she thinks that this might detract from the story. Questions:

What do editors think of widows and orphans?
    Am I screwing up by padding to make the paragraphs fit?

All for now; fighting the flu and it is bedtime.

2. Komposten

Komposten Insanitary pile of rotten fruit Contributor

Welcome to the forum, OGIS!

It's nice to see that you've come so far with your novel, and that the words are still flowing. :)