1. Yes

100.0%
  2. Nope, the door is over there

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. James Parker

James Parker New Member

Apprehensive

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by James Parker, Feb 13, 2020.

Hello one and all,

I am only beginning my writing journey. I have always had a desire to write. In the past I have written some poems, and records of events that have been received very well. I just signed up to a creative writing course. I must say, I am really enjoying it. My mind is full of ideas of poems and short stories that I want to compose. However, I am taking it slowly, I just registered with this site this morning. I am currently aware of my own insecurities with my mind telling me I am not good enough to be here. But I am here in humility to learn. I hope in the process of learning, I am able to offer something back.

Alan Aspie likes this.
  2. Wreybies

Wreybies Thrice Retired Supporter Contributor

Where there's a will, there's a way, wot wot. ;) Welcome to the forum. It's a mixed lot here in many regards. Neither too USA nor too UK, not too left, not too right, not too blue, not too red, and the ones that come in all full of themselves soon learn that that's just not on. ;)

It's a strongly novels and short stories community, but there's some of everything with respect to genre and kinds of writing. The Workshop has a 2-for-1 paradigm running. Whenever you squirrel up the courage to present your work for crit, you must give two crits for every new item you post of your own. That's what keeps the wheels turning in there, else it stalls as everyone leans back and waits.

Hope you enjoy. :)

Iain Aschendale likes this.
  3. James Parker

James Parker New Member

Sounds like a deal, as I said I am currently on this diploma for writing, I am critiquing A Day in the life of a Tramp by Orwell, its helping me with my analysis and my writing, I look forward to partaking in the workshops.

4. Steve Rivers

Steve Rivers Contributor Contributor