1. Nidhogg

Nidhogg Member

Hello there!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Nidhogg, May 12, 2016.

Hi, I'm not too sure of what things I should & shouldn't say here, so here goes something:

I'm a zoology student (reaching my third year at uni) and volunteer aquarist, currently living in Wales. I do most of my work with cichlids and crabs, but also get to do some fun stuff with octopuses and mantis shrimps every now and again, which is a great source of writing inspiration!

I've been trying to crack out a decent story for a few years now, but sometimes always I end up getting into a rut over Worldbuilding, as I feel like I need to know everything about the story's setting before I can get going with the actual plot. Because of this, my plotting isn't very good, so I'm hoping this forum will be able to help me generate some plotting ideas and motivate me to some writing down on paper instead of trying to figure out every nook and cranny of the world.

My preferred genres are fantasy and new weird, but I've recently become rather interested in the superhero genre as well (surprisingly enough not due to the recent influx of Marvel movies).

So... Yeah. Hopefully I can make some good contributions to the forum and not come across as too annoying :p

Lifeline likes this.
  2. Lifeline

Lifeline South. Supporter Contributor

Hi there :)

Seems like I am the first one to welcome you. I feel with you with regard to worldbuilding, man that is a pain in my backside! A teeny tiny piece of advice here.. stick to your characters and what they know about their world. A novel is not about you, the author, but about them :)

Annoying? You are in good company if so :D

Nidhogg likes this.
  3. Nidhogg

Nidhogg Member

Thank you for the welcome!