1. WaitingCynicism

WaitingCynicism New Member

Hello There

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by WaitingCynicism, Jul 7, 2019.

Hi all,

I'm a new writer who has mostly done rpg related stuff before now. I'm primarily a fantasy writer though I want to break out into other generes as well. Looking forward to chatting with you all.

AndieBoDandy likes this.
  2. RobinLC

RobinLC Active Member

Welcome to the forum.

WaitingCynicism likes this.
  3. WaitingCynicism

WaitingCynicism New Member

Thanks!

4. AndieBoDandy

AndieBoDandy Active Member

RPG as in video games, or Dungeons and Dragons?

5. jannert

jannert Retired Mod Supporter Contributor

Hello! I'm one of the Moderators here, and want to extend a personal welcome to you.

I think you'll discover, as you get to know the forum better, that there are LOTS and LOTS of writers here who take their inspiration from RPG stories. These writers also want to re-create the excitement of role playing games in novel (or short story) form. There will be certain hurdles you'll encounter doing this, but they'll be easier to vault if you are also an avid reader of novels and short stories. If you're already a reader, you'll recognise that novels and short stories are a very different medium. What looks obvious in a game must be re-created using only words. Excitement and/or intrigue must be written into the stories, via characters' thoughts and feelings, and not just assumed via dialogue and description of what happens and what happens next. Immersion is desirable, of course, but it takes a different route from games.

Anyway, I'm sure you'll make lots of connections here that will be fun and helpful.

For starters, if you haven't already done so, please read this section. It will get you off on the right foot. New Member Quick Start There are a few requirements you must meet before you can post your work on the forum for feedback, and this Quick Start guide should help keep you right.