1. yfc54

yfc54 New Member

Help needed

Discussion in 'Writing Software and Hardware' started by yfc54, Oct 5, 2007.

I'm a total newbie with regard to writing so obviously I want to get the basics right before I get started.

Now call me stupid but I am struggling to get exactly 25 lines to a page despite following all of the instructions to the letter.

I've set the margins to 1" all round, chosen Courier New(12) and gone through the format, paragrapgh etc etc but when I count up the lines it comes to 28. What the hell am I doing wrong?:redface:

I am pulling my hair out and as you will see from my image I've got precious little to spare. So please please help

2. Scavenger

Scavenger New Member

I may be missing something but...why exactly do you need 25 lines to a page?

I wasn't even aware that was something you could set...

3. yfc54

yfc54 New Member

Apparently this is the usual format when submitting work to publishers. 25 lines and approximately 10 words per line. It can be set but obviously not by me:redface:

4. Scavenger

Scavenger New Member

Hm...well I learned something new today.

Anyone who knows the answer should tell me how, too. I've just been messing with Word t see if I could figure it out, and I can't find it either...maybe it has something to do with line spacing as well... are you writing with a psecific point, single spaced, double, or what?

5. yfc54

yfc54 New Member

I followed these instructions

The Passionate Pen Presents ... Formatting Your Manuscript

6. Scavenger

Scavenger New Member

Okay, I've got it fixed, now.

You have to make sure that under paragraph, and line spacing, it's set to exactly. That's what messed me up. Also, check your gutters and indents; that might be an issue as well.

7. yfc54

yfc54 New Member

I will check everything out again. It's probably a malfunction in my old brain.It ain't as good as it used to be:D

8. Weaselword

Weaselword Banned