1. Space_Goose

Space_Goose New Member

New to writting, need help with plot.

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Space_Goose, Feb 22, 2010.

Hello,

First a little about my story, I am not a writer and this is my first attempt at a major writing project. I first came up with the idea for this story over 10 years ago when I was in high school and had to write a paper for an English Class. From this short story, I developed the same dream that a lot of young people have today; I wanted to create a video game. I was naive, I actually believed that if I came up with a good video game idea, that I would actually be able to get a company to buy the idea and create the video game. Now that I am older, I realize that I have a better chance of winning the lottery than getting a video game maker to buy my idea and story. So once I learned this fact, I pretty much gave up on the story but it always stayed in my mind. Finally a friend of mine has convinced me to try to continue with my idea and write it down in story form. So once it’s done, I don't know what I plan to do with it but I will worry about that after I have it written.

Ok so here is what I have. The idea I have had in my mind for over 10 has a lot going on so I feel that for the novel to be worth reading and not be too quick, that I should split it up into different stories/books. I personally hate prequels. I always feel like a prequel is an author or movie maker trying to squeeze another penny out of a good story. So I think my first story/novel should start at the beginning.