Tags:
  1. Nervous1st

Nervous1st New Member

Rhetorical Questions

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by Nervous1st, Aug 31, 2009.

Hi all,

In my novel, the main character asks herself a lot of questions. Since is is a 'journey of self discovery' theme, she questions herself constantly.

Examples are:

What is wrong with me?
    I don't think he could do something like this, do I?
    Did I just say that out loud?

We all do this in real life. Every day I question myself: What do I feel like for lunch? What are we going to have for dinner?

Anyway, I seem to recall someone saying that using rhetorical questions was a big no-no. Is it just another example of 'lazy' writing? Obviously I understand that overusing them would be annoying but does anyone of the laws on this?

2. thirdwind

thirdwind Member Contest Administrator Reviewer Contributor

There aren't any rules or guidelines for something like this. As a writer, I would say it all depends on how well the piece is written. As a reader, however, I do admit that I would find it annoying to keep seeing something like this pop up often.

3. marina

marina Contributor Contributor

I've never heard any rule about the use of rhetorical questions. I'd only warn that if she's constantly asking these questions it will get tiresome. You could change it up by saying: I wondered... rather than only posing it as a question.

4. arron89

arron89 Banned

Just because you do something in real life, doesn't mean it belongs in your writing. I say "umm" and "like" a lot when I'm speaking, but I would never write like that, even if I was trying to portray myself in fiction.
    Certainly if its your intention to show that the character is questioning herself constantly then include a few, but don't make it annoyingly repetitive, and make sure it always contributes something valuable.

5. Nervous1st

Nervous1st New Member