1. CLM1188

CLM1188 New Member

Thoroughly Discouraged

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by CLM1188, Oct 31, 2011.

To anyone who has a dream of being a writer please allow me a moment of your time:

I am a college student with a dream of being a writer. I want it so badly, but I have recently become bogged down by a series of things in my life, and that has led to writer's block. I feel thoroughly discouraged as though I can not put pen to paper and write anything coherent. I hate this feeling, and I know how little truth this feeling holds, but I can not bring myself over it. I am not alone in my predicament. Millions of writers struggle with their inability to overcome a block. I want to listen to those who know how I feel, and I want someone to calm me down and give me my courage to write back. Are you that person?

Thank you.

2. AmsterdamAssassin

AmsterdamAssassin Active Member

Think about this: You don't need courage to write. You might need courage to show your writing to other people, but before you do that, you can go over it multiple times to make sure you won't embarrass yourself. Nobody needs to see what you write. It can be utter garbage, but that doesn't matter, because you'll be writing. And if in twenty pages of garbage there is one paragraph that shines like a newly cleaned toilet bowl, it's worth it.

There. Feel better now? :)

3. cruciFICTION

cruciFICTION Contributor Contributor

You're in college. Your profile says you're 22. Unless you have an illness (and I'm sorry if you do), then you've got time, my friend.
    In fact, you've essentially got your whole life ahead of you.

Aside from the fact that you can afford to be patient with it and make sure that it's not just a phase (hell, when anyone says they "recently" got into something, it has the potential to be a phase), you've also got to realise that writer's block is not a thing. It's not a valid excuse. It's nothing.