1. Brimstonegarden

Brimstonegarden New Member

Here I Am

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Brimstonegarden, Jun 2, 2021.

Howdy all! This is my first time joining a writing forum to actually post so sorry if I'm missing any of the intricacies of ettiquette.

So first things first, I go by Brim, I'm 23 and I write YA. Within that I tend to have a bit more wiggle room, my 3 current projects (all in very different stages) are in a sort of dieselpunk dystopian setting, horror/urban fantasy, and high fantasy. So I get around a little in terms of subgenre!

I've been writing since high school, nothing published but I have gotten all the way through a couple of 80k word drafts, so I've got that unreadable first attempt at a novel out of the way. (I finished NaNoWriMo on one of them!) I don't care for writing anything shorter than that. I'm actually currently in the process of editing and rewriting right now rather than actively writing, but I'm also doing a lot of planning right now. I tend to bounce between projects as a response to writer's block.

I love reading within the genres I write! I have a special love for YA because I like the fact that it tends to keep a pretty quick pace without taking itself too seriously (And when it does, I can't take it too seriously). That said a sampler list of my favorite books includes The Master and Margarita by Mikhail Bulgakov, The Illuminae Files by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff, The Grishaverse Books by Leigh Bardugo which I just finished, and the first three books of The Dragon Riders of Pern by Anne McCaffrey so my tastes can be a bit of a crapshot honestly. Maybe suggest a book to me if you respond! I find one of the better ways to grow stylistically is to explore the works of a variety of authors, so I'm happy to try new things! That and it's a nice way to get a conversation going!

2. Xoic

Xoic Prognosticator of Arcana Ridiculosum Contributor Blogerator