Tags:
  1. Scavenger

Scavenger New Member

Hola

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Scavenger, Aug 4, 2007.

Hi everyone,

I'm Rachel. I'm going to attempt to make this work, as I have a horrible track record with forums and my ability to stay active, but they're a really good source of creativity as well as feedback, and I always enjoy them, so I thought I'd give it one more go.

I've been writing seriously for about six years now, mostly short stories. So far, any attempts I've made at a full-length novel have failed, but I'm currently in the process of designing/planning/rough-drafting one that I've had in my head for over a year now and really like.

I'm a very detail-oriented writer, and pride myself on my imagery and descriptions. I also really appreciate fluency in both writing and plot, and strive towards that more than anything. I'm currently starting a class (I'm about to enter my senior year of high school) to focus entirely on characterization, both my own and that of famous, more modern, authors, in hopes that I will improve that as well.

For a long time I wrote nothing but fanfiction (Harry Potter), but am now entirely original with my writing - though if I'm honest, I get a lot of influence from JKR's characters. In general, I actually have a fairly low opinion of fanfiction - most of it is pretty sub-standard, but there are some authors out there that redeem the genre completely in my eyes, and that makes it worth it.

I'm not sure what else I should be talking about in here....I do a lot of photography, have three jobs plus school, ride horses, and live in Colorado, so I get to snowboard in some of the best snow in the world during the winter. I love to review writing, and have been told I'm crazy honest (to the point of brutality) when giving my criticism, so...if anyone wants that, feel free to ask. Once I graduate from college, I'm hoping to edit books for a living, so it'll be good practice for me.

Talk to you all later,