1. Skyes

Skyes Member

Hello folks! I am new here, and with some issues :(

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Skyes, Nov 2, 2014.

Hi everyone! I am new here, but I really like the forum so far. Btw, sorry for my english, I am from Brazil.
    I have been writting fantasy since I was a kid (around 10 or 11 years old), and I have a huge imagination.
    Sometimes I spend hours just sitting on the couch and thinking of my stories. There is this personal story I have been developing for 4 years now, but I am having a really hard time to write it down. It seems so easy in my head, it all appears like a movie, but I find it really hard to simply sit down and write. I get lost in the words and can't describe the scenes very well. It is weird, because when I was young I wrote books so easily, without this problem...
    Does anyone know what this is? Or how to fix it? I don't know if it is a writers block, it looks much more like lazyness, or lack of a functional working method

Anyway, what software do you guys use to write? I am using Google Drive Writer but I am not liking it very much. What is the best software in your opinion? Any tips?

Thanks in advance!

2. BayView

BayView Huh. Interesting. Contributor

Honestly, I think you might just be coming to realize that daydreaming is easy, and writing is hard.

Probably when you were young you weren't worrying about quality? And were you writing full books, at that age? Like, how many words?

Seriously, it's a lot of work. There's software that may or may not help (Scrivener seems to be the gold standard, for those who want more than a simple word processor), but it doesn't make writing effortless. Writing is HARD.