1. danyoung55

danyoung55 New Member

Hello!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by danyoung55, Feb 7, 2013.

Hello, my name is Daniel Young. I'm a 38 year-old unpublished writer from Sydney, New South Wales, Australia. I was previously signed up to the forums a couple of years ago but the e-mail address I used back then is now defunct, so I registered again (I don't think I really posted much on my first visits here, though). I just wanted to introduce myself. I've enjoyed writing since the 6th grade, back in '86. I can still remember the day when our teacher introduced the class to creative writing, my first attempt at writing a story being a simple piece of fan fiction for the '80s cartoon Robotech. I wrote quite often through high school and at one time received a "Highly Commended" award from a Sydney newspaper for a 12-page short story about an organised crime war.

I mostly enjoyed writing science fiction, though, but I had trouble coming up with my own ideas and continued along the fan fiction route with other stories set in the Robotech universe, aswell as that of the movies Alien and Aliens. I finished high school in '93 and went away from writng for a few years, until around '95 or '96 when I started writing another piece of Robotech fan fiction. I had a grand vision for this one and felt that if it was good enough I would try to get it published. However, after I had spent about a year on it and filled some 120 hand-written pages of A4 exercise books, I decided that I should try to come up with my own original story.