1. nicgentile

nicgentile New Member

Hi, I write about crime. Not what you think though.

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by nicgentile, Feb 16, 2023.

Hi,

My name is Nic. I'm an author currently running a daily release series on my own blog/newsletter.

I'm not sure about self-promotion here, so I will keep it very generic.

My story, set in the 70s, is about an unlikely quartet, set somewhere on an idyllic West African island, who team up to form a heist gang. They rob criminals, corrupt politicians, drug dealers and basically other bad guys. My main aim is to make each story as operationally sound as possible, including getting stuff like news articles right, locations, procedures, facts etc, and sometimes the stories lean into actual historic facts. I spend 200 - 300 hours doing research alone, including reading and watching old movies, documentaries, old newspapers, and old maps, sometimes I send emails to historical societies and people knowledgeable in such matters and what have you.

I do a single part every single day on my blog, and it is also delivered as a newsletter. My current story is around 56k words and is released at between 1,500 - 3,500 words per day. I'm hoping to grow this into a graphical novel at some point, and even an animation if I can swing it.

I have both paid and free subscribers so that is a major step for me.

Based on my long-ass introduction, you can see tl;dr is not for me. If anyone needs a link, I will shoot it to you, or if I am allowed to post it here, someone can tell me it's cool.

Later.

2. Hammer

Hammer Moderator Staff Supporter Contributor

Hi Nic, and welcome to the forum

The forum rules are pretty clear on this:-

This is a community of writers/people with an interest in writing of a huge variety of levels and abilities, but it isn't a market-place (to be honest it's the wrong place to be marketing your work if you stop and think about it... )