1. cabbage

cabbage New Member

Hi from Bulgaria

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by cabbage, Feb 2, 2013.

I’ve earned my living as a lawyer in Bulgaria for 11 years now. But that’s not what I like to do. Not in Bulgaria anyway and that’s the only country in the world I can practice my profession in. Occasionally I’ve contributed articles in the local press, but I don’t see any point to go on with this either.

I’m a newbie here and – yes – English is not my mother tongue. In September I completed a non-fictional book about Bulgaria in English with the help of a retired American lawyer living in Sofia. I know, I know, my prospects are not great. Nobody gives a damn about a small country in Europe. Still, I won’t give up without a fight.

I doubt that anyone here is interested in publishing in Bulgaria (I can’t imagine why anybody should be interested in). However, I thought that this might be interesting as a curiosity.

The total print of most books in Bulgaria rarely exceeds 500. More, the books have to be exceedingly cheap or else no one will buy them. We are talking here about a country where the average wage is something like 200 dollars per month. Thus, the price of a book barely covers the cost of its printing. Most authors are happy if they don’t have to pay for the publication. So, no matter meagre is their pay, they are satisfied. In this situation it’s no wonder that payment rarely exceeds 300 dollars per book.