1. Winston

Winston New Member

Advice Needed

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Winston, Jan 30, 2011.

Hello there, fellow writers! :) I am quite obviously a newbie here, and I joined because I have a strong desire to write. However, I don't exactly know where to start. I want to write prose, as I'm much better at that than I am at verse.

If any of you more veteran users out there would be willing to give me some pointers on how to collect my thoughts and get started, I'd appreciate it very much. :)

2. Cornys

Cornys New Member

Sounds like me at one point.. I'm new here too, but I've been writing for a while..

What genras interest you most may I ask?

3. Winston

Winston New Member

In reality, I'd be open to almost anything, but it must be a bit silly to not have any preference at all...hmm...genres that I enjoy reading stretch from classic Gothic and Romantic novels to Crime Fiction to Fantasy to Adventure/Thrillers. I guess I have quite a few thoughts to collect, after all :)

4. Elgaisma

Elgaisma Contributor Contributor

My advice is get yourself a character and start writing see where it takes you might be 200 words could be 100,000 words. There are some good sites with generators to give you ideas to start with. You are welcome to borrow one of my spares if you need one lol

Don't worry about the quality to start with nothing in writing is unfixable. You can edit, change, rewrite, move etc, and thanks to the computer and word processing it is relatively easy. Just focus on creating characters and stories.

There are plot and character generators - one site seventh sanctum has a number, if you are completely stuck for ideas they can be good for sparking one or two.

I don't have a genre preference will have a shot at writing anything - do mostly fantasy and humour - but my stories may not end up in the genre I started off writing them in lol

5. Winston

Winston New Member