1. Kwills79

Kwills79 Member

Historical Fiction Advice

Discussion in 'Children's & Young Adult' started by Kwills79, Nov 7, 2017.

I'm working on a picture book detailing the Battle of the Sexes between Billie Jean King and Bobby Riggs. Because it's a picture book, I wanted to write it from the POV of Billie Jean as a child--as if it happened while she was a child. The main elements of the book are factual (things that influenced her to go into tennis, her athletic abilities, how she saved her own money for her first racket, the match between her and Bobby), but I have a critique partner who advised that it all be factual (as in write it the way it actually happened) or else you are essentially lying to children (in children's eyes). She recommended writing about a fictional character who uses Billie Jean as a role model when challenged to her own personal battle of the sexes. This is a good idea, but not where I wanted the book to go. Thoughts? I'm new to this sub-genre, but feel that creative license has been taken in this area before...I would love to hear other's opinions on it. Thank you!

2. jannert

jannert Retired Mod Supporter Contributor

I think you are on very VERY dodgy ground here, especially as you are writing historical 'fiction?' Billie Jean King is still alive and only 73 years old. Unless you have her permission to do this, I wouldn't. You really shouldn't be taking creative license with somebody's actual life while they are still alive. Seriously. Don't. Even if you base your story on Billie Jean King and change names, etc, you really need to be careful that nobody is going to make the connection too strongly with Billie Jean King.