1. Mr. Lewis

Mr. Lewis New Member

Hello

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Mr. Lewis, Jul 28, 2014.

Hello everyone! Just a brief introduction so that I can get myself acquainted with some of you and introduce myself. My name is Danny and I am 22 years old, living in London at the moment. I work in finance, it's ok I suppose but it dulls my creativity I think. I loved writing as a teenager and used to write quite a lot. Recently I haven't found the time or motivation, but I am wanting to start writing again as it is one of my few hobbies. I love reading and in particular I love Fantasy. My favourite authors are Brandon Sanderson, Trudi Canavan and Robert Jordan.

I am looking to start writing something again, starting with a couple of short stories and progressing onto a novel. Where do you guys get your inspiration from? The hardest part for me is starting - so what exercises do you use and how do you go about planning your stories and getting started?

Any help would be greatly appreciated and if you want to know anything more about me then don't hesitate to ask.

2. Amanda_Geisler

Amanda_Geisler Senior Member

Hello @Mr. Lewis,
    Welcome to the forums there is a new member guide located here if you haven't found it already https://www.writingforums.org/threads/new-member-quick-start-guide.132102/

As for you questions. The writing process is different for everybody. Some find it easy to start but hard to finish. Others plan a lot and some don't plan at all. It's all about finding out how to release your inner writer, the more you learn about yourself the easier it will be to write.
    A lot of people start off by writing a little bit every day, it doesn't have to much, it is just a way of disciplining yourself to write, then eventually you will be able to write more and more each day in the time you have to write.