Tags:
  1. TheOtherPromise

TheOtherPromise Senior Member

Wannabe Writer Saying Hello

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by TheOtherPromise, Jan 10, 2020.

Hello y'all.

I'm a wannabe writer. As in I want to be a writer, but am not to the point where I feel comfortable calling myself a novice, amateur, or even beginner.

My hope is that by joining forums like this one and discussing writing with, well, writers. I can improve my craft to the point that one day I become a published author.

I'm mostly interested in writing speculative fiction (okay, I'm only interested in writing speculative fiction, it is a broad category after all).

What I am struggling with the most at the moment in regards to writing, is description. So tips on that front is definitely something I will be looking into. (Though in fairness, given my lack of experience, I need help in all aspects. That is just my most noticeable failing).

J.D. Ray likes this.
  2. Some Guy

Some Guy Manguage Langler Supporter Contributor

Welcome! I like your open-minded attitude. Before taking up the 'pen', I share with thee a few thoughts.
    There are no bad stories. 'Bad writing' is a mechanical issue that can be fixed with tools.
    FINISH your story! If you get stuck, put a thought or question at the end, do something else and come back to it. Write anything else and give yourself a small victory, "A man was born. Then, he died." If your story seems played out, write a quick ending to pinch it off - finish it. It may rekindle or be useful, years later! Countless times I just write, "then everyone burst into flames and ran around screaming until a giant Godzilla foot stomped everything flat." :D