1. horsinaround930

horsinaround930 New Member

Hello...

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by horsinaround930, May 26, 2013.

Greetings,

I have become a member to this community in hopes of finding some assistance in achieving a goal I set in place a few years ago. I'll begin with who I am, then inform you of my goal and my reasons for setting this goal. My name is Joel, I am twenty four years old, and I am a mechanic in the US Navy. I call North Carolina home, though I am stationed in Virginia. I have never written anything more than a few essays, and I doubt I have the skill to write a best selling novel in this decade, or the next. I do know that my teachers have always liked my work but I am not sure how a few essays will translate in to writing a book. Regardless of my knowledge of writing, I do feel that have stories to tell, and I will tell them. While I could care less as to how well these writings turn out, I still want to write them. This is why I had set a goal of writing a book in this lifetime. I will deploy soon and will be out to sea until about this time next year. This gives me plenty of time to write and hopefully have something that resembles a book within that time frame.

-Joel

2. PyrZern

PyrZern Member

Welcome aboard Joel.
    We have the Writing Workshop area so we could discuss about and give critique to other's writing. You might want to do a few of that as well because it will help with your own writing so much. Then when you put something up, we will return the favor. :)

What kind of writing interests you ?

3. horsinaround930

I will look into that, I wouldn't have noticed it had you not mentioned it. I'm not sure exactly, I like mystery, crime, fiction. I don't like sci-fi, fantasy. I guess I liek stories that could actually happen. For example, I like a horror that is scary due to a crazy person doing something crazy, but I wouldn't like a horror that consists of a make believe monster.

4. horsinaround930