1. Stonelands

Stonelands New Member

Greetings from New Zealand

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Stonelands, Nov 2, 2014.

Hello,

I am a 23 year old male living in Wellington, New Zealand. I graduated from university last year and I'm currently working in a call centre. I honestly believe that the last time I committed myself to creative writing in any serious manner that my age would not have even reached double digits. I've recently decided that amongst my other interests it would be good for me to get back into the process of creative writing, as much to prevent myself from losing any further sense of direction than I already have as for any other reason.

Currently I'm going through the process of constructing a prologue for a book that I have in mind. I'm pretty light on details at the moment but I'm hoping to produce something of a science-fiction novel with a very non-traditional feel to it. At the moment the dialogue that I have for the prologue is very dry and painful to read so it is definitely something that will have to be rewritten, perhaps multiple times. Still, nothing worthwhile generally comes without blood, sweat and tears. We'll just have to see if I get beyond this problem of dry dialogue.

I look forward to learning from this forum.

Regards,
    William.

FrankieWuh and GingerCoffee like this.
  2. GingerCoffee

GingerCoffee Web Surfer Girl Contributor

Hi, welcome to the forum. May I suggest setting the prologue aside and moving on with the book, then come back to it?

3. FrankieWuh

FrankieWuh Active Member

Welcome to the Forum, Stonelands.
    Spent some time in NZ some years back - was lucky enough to be in Wellington (MiddleEarth) during the premier of the Two Towers. Cool place.