1. beehoney

beehoney Member

how can I improve my skills: Writing with five senses

Discussion in 'Setting Development' started by beehoney, Nov 12, 2017.

Hello Writing-Community,

Sight, hearing, smell, taste, and touch—these are our five senses. No wonder that it’s important for a scene to describe with the five senses.

But I’m a noob in describe scene with senses.

Well, now you may think haha, it’s very easy to describe a scene with senses.

Yeah, it is. You can describe senseless what the character sees or what he/she hear.

I wanna focus the reader on a scene like a photo. And that’s very difficult for me. I can write, write and write I never focus what’s really important!

How can I improve my skills to write with senses? How do you fix this problem?

bye,

beehoney

2. Azuresun

Azuresun Senior Member

I try to think of times when a certain sensation immediately caught my attention, and then try to evoke something like that to draw attention to a certain part of a scene. For example--

--A character has just been punched or slapped unexpectedly, splitting their lip. I want to emphasise the physical shock and the harm they've suffered, so I describe how shocked they are at the taste of blood.

--To convey that a deserted house is creepy, I describe the sounds--how every floorboard seems to creak, and how the sounds of a branch tapping against a window start to sound like scratching fingers.

--To establish a character as being sleazy, I draw attention to the smells of stale tobacco and cheap aftershave that hangs about him.

It's one of those things where you can draw heavily on your own experience--think of the times that a sensory sensation made a strong impression on you.

Shenanigator and izzybot like this.
  3. izzybot

izzybot (unspecified) Contributor