1. Banananarchiste

Banananarchiste Member

How can you shape a plot from a character development based story?

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Banananarchiste, Aug 25, 2017.

Hello everyone!

(Firstly, keep in consideration that I am a french writer writing in french for my works.)

By spending countless hours on my WIP I kept having this major issue: How can I work out a plot from a character based story?

Let me explain myself, this story involves a sixteen years old guy, fighting his fears of a big city at night and its inhabitants by doing some illegal stuff. Even thought the hero finds lots of friends and has countless adventures throughout the book, my plot seems really weird to work on. (Also, the story is written in the first person)
    The point of the book is to build this character mental strength, making him tuff and fearless. But what is HIS goal? The story is evolving around graffiti since I can relate to it. But should I give my character a specific goal for himself or let him flow by the elements that I place him on?

Theres the ending that I, the writer want to develop "subconsciously" throughout the book, but theres the dreams and objectives that my character should also have. I'm struggling to mix up the two.

Thanks a lot! I hope you understand what I mean and tell me if you need more information about the story or the character.

2. Simpson17866

Simpson17866 Contributor Contributor

Welcome to the site!

I tend to take the brute-force approach: I pick an idea at random, I play with it for a while to see if I like it or not, and if not, I figure out what I don't like about it so that I can come up with another idea that I like better.