Tags:
  1. Rosie Anna Lloyd

Rosie Anna Lloyd New Member

I have no idea...

Discussion in 'Traditional Publishing' started by Rosie Anna Lloyd, Oct 13, 2020.

So I have no idea what I'm doing.
    I have rough drafts for a couple of children's book ideas, it's all on paper with my own drawn illustrations.
    I have never done anything like this before, but I am confident in my ideas.
    I have researched publishers but quite frankly have no idea how to go for one, how to choose. Some say to submit manuscripts (but mine are not done on the computer) others offer "packages" that I pay for?
    I'm just looking for tips and advice on how to start out and get the ball rolling...
    Thanks in advance.
    Rosie.

2. r.ross

r.ross Member

Hi Rosie,
    Are you a writer and illustrator? Are you primarily working on children's picture books?

3. Mckk

Mckk Member Supporter Contributor

Vanity publishers are not real publishers - these are the ones who ask you to pay for your own publishing. Real publishers get their profit from SALES - by selling your book. The author should not have to pay anything. Why would a publisher try to sell your book if they've already been paid by the author? You'll probably find a variety of services - simple book printing and editing services that understandably will want to be paid, or ones that claim to be "publishers" when all they do is print the book for you. Avoid vanity publishers at all costs - these are generally known as "sharks".