1. muneebah

muneebah New Member

travel or travels?

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by muneebah, Aug 23, 2012.

Hello all!

I'm new...

I have a question to ask. I work as a designer and have stumbled across a problem with a logo I have been asked to design.

The debate is over the name 'Simple Travel' or 'Simple Travels' - for a new travel agent company...they were insisting using the word 'simple travels', but both myself and our content writer noticed this is grammatically incorrect.

For me 'travels' implies exploration, adventure and is only used in the English language in plural for things like 'Gulliver's Travels' so if a name of someone is put before it it makes sense and makes it specific to adventure/exploration and not generic to traveling.

The only other place I have found 'travels' used for travel agents is foreigners using it, thinking its correct. That is the case in my company, English is not their first language and we have a split on the meaning. The director is arguing his point that it implies more than one journey, but I think it means adventure/exploration and I do not think it fits with the word 'simple' before it.

I wanted to ask people who are good with words or 'wordsmiths' what they think the official meaning and using it in this context is correct or incorrect?

Any advice would be much appreciated. :)

Muneebah

2. Corgz

Corgz New Member

Really, It comes down to advertising. To most people, travels would seem the best choice because it displays adventure, like you said. BUt if you are going to be grammatically correct about it, i think travel would be the best word.

3. muneebah

muneebah New Member

Hey,

Thanks for your reply.