1. Bearycool

Bearycool New Member

How Do I Start Publishing

Discussion in 'Traditional Publishing' started by Bearycool, Oct 24, 2010.

This is for future references. I have no idea on the publishing system of a book or poem works. What the steps that you have to take to start publishing a piece of writing? How can I get information on publishers in my area?

2. HeinleinFan

HeinleinFan Banned

Um, broad questions much? Google is your friend.

I got 800 words into a reply and quit. I hadn't even finished with book publishing, and I had intended to go into short story and poem publishing as well. But it just isn't worth it; you haven't even used a search engine yet, or you'd have narrower questions.

Do the groundwork. Then ask the questions. Because saying "Hi, I'm new to all this, and I'm feeling lazy; please explain a very complicated topic for me, briefly but with all the essential details included," is just rude.

Seriously. (said the grumpy young woman) Just now I put "what are the steps to get published" into Google and the answers were there. Try answer 4 - author Tara Harper's blog. Or answer 2 - the relevant page from absolutewrite dot com. No, not everything out there is useful; Google's sixth suggestion is a vanity publisher. But you'd know that upon reading it (the site isn't exactly subtle about it).

3. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

Read the threads in this section, and you'll pick up a lot of vital information.

4. S-wo

S-wo Active Member