1. Mordred85

Mordred85 Active Member

How do we attack discouragement?

Discussion in 'Fantasy' started by Mordred85, Jul 5, 2015.

Being an aspiring fantasy author, I find myself blown away when watching interviews with some already published and successful authors. Sometimes it can be their vast knowledge of history, and I'm not just talking U.S. history here. It can be anything from their knowledge of different religions they've researched or how they know so much about anything they're asked about. It sometimes feels like a little low-blow to my conscience and I feel that I am not up to par with these writers. Not that I'm trying to be as good or better than them, but I sometimes feel useless or unworthy of having certain aspirations.

I sometimes find myself reading some modern fantasy material with a more common tongue. These kind of books usually convince me that I have hope in becoming an author. Other times, I'm reading some classic Children's Literature and finding myself in a shit-storm. It's hard to believe how children read this with ease in 1958. Then again, we didn't have many distractions like smartphones, video-games and satellite television.

I may just be over-analyzing this stuff, but I'd like to know how you guys feel about the subject. Also, do any of you sometimes feel a bit discouraged in a similar way before starting a new project?

Last edited: Jul 5, 2015
    Crybaby, IlaridaArch and Nicoel like this.
  2. BayView

BayView Huh. Interesting. Contributor

Well, you may be relieved to know that a lot of filmed interviews involve questions the author was aware of before hand, or at least pre-agreed general topics. A good interviewer can steer the conversation subtly but effectively toward areas the guest will be able to discuss intelligently. So those authors may have specialized areas of expertise, rather than broad general knowledge.