1. Colum McClelland

Colum McClelland New Member

How do you handle lulls in motivation?

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by Colum McClelland, Dec 22, 2021.

I have been writing the first draft of my story for over 10 years. There are periods of which I feel like what i'm writing is great and others when I think it's rubbish and I should give up. I have gone months if not years at times without writing a single word and yet it is a project that always draws me back as if I have need to just finish this one book.

Sometimes the time away is warranted as when I revisit scenes I am able to insert jigsaw pieces that have eluded me. Fortunately for now I am in one of those motivated periods and making progress.

Is there anyone else that has experienced this to the severity I have and if so how do you persevere when you think you may not be a capable writer? Should I finish my first draft before asking for help to hone my actual writing skills or vice versa?

MartinM, B.E. Nugent and evild4ve like this.
  2. evild4ve

evild4ve Critique is stranger than fiction Supporter Contributor

It might be useful to know the word count so far and the intended word count or % completion.

For me, the things that stick out from the OP are I have been writing the first draft [...] need to just finish this one book.
    And to hone my actual writing skills

A first draft that has taken 10 years might be hard to throw away and do over, whilst also having accumulated more of the sorts of idiosyncrasies that need to be dropped out.
    Who else has seen it so far and what do they say?