1. Venom.

Venom. Active Member

Creating Characters: How much is too much?

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by Venom., Mar 21, 2014.

I'm trying to find a good way to plan my characters so I can understand them better but I'm not aware of the best processes. In the past I either go into too much or too little detail and I'm just curious as to how people try and create decent, three dimensional characters and how they plot or plan them.

Any insight would be great as I'm trying to find methods that best suit me.

2. jazzabel

jazzabel Agent Provocateur Contributor

Well, it really depends. Some characters just appear in my head, and I already instinctively 'know' them. Others, I have facets of their character but I need to think systematically in order to make their personality consistent with what I need them to do. I studied human psychology extensively, and I write character-driven stories, so it's very important to me to create real, three dimensional characters. I can't stand inconsistent reactions and behaviour, if i come across it as a reader, it makes me roll my eyes and throw the book away.

Here's a blog I wrote about how I approached character development when I was a novice writer. I still take myself through the questions sometimes, if I need to jog my brain into conjuring up a character who is not easily revealing themselves to me.

Wreybies and Venom. like this.
  3. Bjørnar Munkerud

Bjørnar Munkerud Senior Member